Pennypinchfashion's Blog

A college student's access to the hottest trends without breaking the bank!

Dress Nicer, Feel Better April 6, 2010

Filed under: Opinions — pennypinchfashion @ 9:52 am

Sweatpants-when do you wear them?

I go to a very casual school and would describe the dress code as casual to sloppy. Sweatshirts, sweatpants, athletic shorts, and maybe even pajama pants (please don’t wear pajama pants out in public) are the typical attire. But is it appropriate?

I’d have to say no. I understand that no one wants to wake up an hour early to make yourself look decent for an 8 am class, but giving yourself just ten extra minutes in the morning can make a difference. The professors don’t come to class in sweatpants, why should you?

If this man came to teach class in sweatpants, would you take him seriously?

I’m not saying I have never worn sweatpants to class, there are days where squeezing in to a pair of jeans just isn’t going to work, but for those of you who wear sweatpants more than once a week-I challenge you. Wake up ten minutes earlier and put on jeans and a nice top and see what happens. I’m not asking you to wear a suit and tie or a dress, just a pair of jeans and shirt you wouldn’t wear to bed. I bet you will feel better and more alert in your classes!

Think I’m crazy? Tell me why.

Chic Spending out there,

PennyPinchFashion

 

7 Responses to “Dress Nicer, Feel Better”

  1. Carv Says:

    I think it is hard to dress too nice when going to class, because every time I look nice I get the following comment: What are you so dressed up for? Even my boss at my campus job saw me dressed up one day and was confused. But I think that you can look classy in jeans and a t-shirt, and save the sweatpants for your dorm! And another thought, you never know who you’re going to meet, so you need to look good when you walk out the door!

  2. Mal Says:

    Freshman year, I wore sweatpants regularly and (gasp) occassionally the casual pajama pant to class. I was tired of dressing up everyday, which is something I did in high school. As I have gone through college, I’ve realized that you need to dress well in order for others to take you seriously! I started wearing jeans sophomore year and have dressed more professionally since then, especially since I wear professional attire to my job each day. I would not take any of my professors or my boss seriously if they showed up in sweats!

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    Any one that knows me would be shocked to see me in sweatpants and would probably be worried. I completely agree that sweats should not be outdoor attire! It’s great if you are going to workout, or if you are injured and don’t have any other options, but otherwise it’s just laziness. It takes the same amount of time to throw on jeans and a t-shirt as it does to put on sweats. Plus, if you are better dressed you are more likely to put off the urge to sleep.

  4. Anthony P Says:

    Definitely, when you dress nicer and take pride with what you look like you are taken more seriously. Also it boosts your morale as well. It is important to feel good about yourself. Some people say, “I don’t care what people think about what I look like.” I feel that deep down inside a lot of people really do care, at least somewhat. We dress the way we do for some inner reason, maybe society.
    How you dress can really tell a lot about your personality or the mood you’re in right now.
    You don’t need to spend a lot of money to look nice. Clean yourself up and look orgranized.. it’s not all about the name brand.. save that for the materialistic people.

    Penny Pinch Fashion… You are sooooo right!

  5. Emily M Says:

    I used to wear sweatpants every day, but I still agree that it’s not the most appropriate. I have spring fever now, so I’ve been wearing dresses or at least jeans more, and it definitely does feel better to go to class looking good!

  6. Melissa Says:

    Also, that dude in sweatpants would be creepy.

  7. Melissa Says:

    I loathe sweatpants in public. Unless you are on your way to the emergency room or just coming to/from the gym, they are lounge wear only. I see them as a reward for a long day. You can’t eat just desserts!


Leave a Reply

