Pennypinchfashion's Blog

A college student's access to the hottest trends without breaking the bank!

It’s just a HOOT! April 4, 2010

Filed under: College Trends — pennypinchfashion @ 11:56 pm

I don’t know what it is, but the image of the owl, has made its way in to fashion. They are appearing on shirts, necklaces, earrings, scarves, almost anything! I did some research about what an owl’s symbolism is and found quite a range of information. For example in Africa the owl is associated with witchcraft and sorcery. In Ancient Egypt the owl represented the guarding of underworlds and the dead. And Native Americans associate the owl with wisdom and the keeper of sacred knowledge.

Maybe this video will help us better understand the ways of the owl?

Do you wear owls? If so, what type of owl item do you wear?

Here’s a few available owl items for a good price:

http://www.forever21.com/search.asp?keyword=owl

Chic Spending out there,

PennyPinchFashion

 

6 Responses to “It’s just a HOOT!”

  1. Carv Says:

    After hearing about the symbolism of the owl, I think I will pay tribute to my Native American heritage and buy an owl necklace. Thanks for getting me in touch with my inner Carver!

  2. Linds Says:

    I love love love owls. 🙂

  3. Less Jess Says:

    Last year I watched Housewives of New York and the fashion model girl on the show (not important enough for me to remember her name or even google it) was working on a jewelry line. It included a lot of owl pieces. Interesting! I do have an Owl lamp that I inherited from my grandmother, maybe it is time to bring it out of storage and prominently display in the house if it is in fashion.

  4. Staci Marie Says:

    I actually just bought an owl pendant at a craft store a couple of weeks ago. I bought a leather cord and the pendant and now I have a new owl necklace! If you like pendant jewelry it’s usually much cheaper to buy several cords or chains separately and mix and match pendants that you find at craft stores or on other necklaces. More possibilities and better prices. I usually go to Hobby Lobby.

  5. That I know of, yes. But I could be wrong. Anyone seen men in owl gear?

  6. Mike Says:

    I’m assuming this is a female fashion trend only??


Leave a Reply

